DIY: Reusable Snack Bags

Call me crazy, but I think it’s silly that we use those dang Ziplock bags for one thing and throw them in the trash. Even though we do a lot of “green” things in our home like homemade house cleaners, cloth diapers, etc.,  I don’t consider myself to be in that clique.

I just never realized how much I was wasting my money until my little person with a ravenous 14 month old belly started making it a necessity to buy a new box of bags a couple times a month with all those snacks that I have to be packed in the diaper bag.

So I started looking into reusable snack bags at my local baby boutiques and online and wasn’t impressed with how expensive it was when it looked so simple to make myself.

After venting my frustration with some other Mama’s, who also happen to know how to sew and have the patience to teach a slacker like me, we (Deanna, Emily, and myself) set out to make our own for about $1 a piece instead of the $8-15 a bag.

Materials:

  • Hook & loop (velcro) closures
  • A couple yards of PUL (a moisture wicking fabric that is machine washable)
  • A couple yards of fun fabric
  • Scissors/rotary cutter
  • Ruler
  • Pins
  • Sewing machine

First, I dragged this cute little thing to my friend, Deanna’s house so she could play with these fun guys while we worked.

She really is an unhappy baby, don't you think?!

Silas, Sam & Sadie.

Then we developed a pattern for two different sized bags.  One bigger one for puffy snacks, whole fruit, or sandwiches. Another smaller bag for things like cheerios, cheese sticks or crackers.

Emily working out the math

Then we cut out the PUL and favorite material for our big and small bags (7×7 and 4.5×7)

Emily measuring and cutting

Then we folded the PUL on the inside of our material and pinned our hook and loop in place. When we folded the material over, we made sure there was some overlap on the top so nothing could spill out when the velcro was fastened.

Pins in and ready to sew!

Then we let the sewing begin….starting with sewing the hook and loop and then sewing all the way around until you have the finished product! It was really that simple!

Tada!!!

Yes, that's me sitting at a sewing machine. My mom would be so proud.

11 thoughts on “DIY: Reusable Snack Bags

  1. I love this blog. Mine is not as nearly as helpful, o.k it is definitely not helpful. I just write to write and because it gives my mother in law something to comment on. :)

    Back to your blog – so will you creative and resourceful ladies be selling these snack bags anytime soon? Even with an almost six year old and four year old I end of carrying snacks. Now with baby number 3 I know I will be carrying more and yes I use and waste ziplock baggies.

    So if you decide to sell these let me know. :-)

    Blessings!

  2. I have bought some of these and they have either ripped or not made it home from school. I can sew and before school starts I will making some of these and probably more so I can pass them onto my other mom relatives for presents! Thank you. Pamela (aka simplyrurban.com)

  3. PUL is not considered fabric safe according to the companies that manufacture it. just sayin’….love the simple pattern though. very easy and useful. snack bags can be made out of unbleached muslin. food kept for a couple of hours or sent to school until lunchtime don’t need to be in water-tight or water resistant bags to be fresh. before plastic bags, people wrapped sandwiches in a cloth napkin. i sent my kids to school with half-pint sized glass canning jars for runny snacks and no, they never broke even one. small jars can be slipped inside a drawstring bag made of quilted fabric – muslin front and back and cotton batting between – if there are worries of breakage.

  4. Pingback: How To Make Reusable Versions Of The Top 13 Kitchen Staples | theorganicauthority.com - Organic Living

Leave a Reply

