We’re Having a Baby Brown!

Thursday, March 12, 2009

austin-053

The Test

Two days ago (Tuesday, March 10) I took a pregnancy test. It said pregnant. After staring at the closed bathroom door for a couple seconds that really felt like forever, I opened the door and showed TJ the test results. We went nuts. It was such a mix of emotions all at one time. We were shaking, laughing, crying, hugging, and running around the apartment like we’d lost our minds. I couldn’t breath! Then we ran to the store and got two more pregnancy tests just to be sure. And, yep, we had a row of three tests sitting there on the counter all saying pregnant. It’s taken me two days to write this all down, because honestly, I have been speechless (yes…me, speechless) until now. We’re thrilled about having a baby, and know that we have quite a few adjustments to make to be ready for the little one’s arrival.

Who Knows?

The saddest part about finding out we’re pregnant is that we can’t tell our families in person. So, today we went and bought 4 bottles with a note inside each saying “We’re having a baby!” Then we went to UPS and shipped them all out to everyone in the family. Hopefully, we’ll be able to Skype with them as they open their presents to see their reactions. We can’t wait to tell them so we can have some of their support. We’re bursting at the seams with nobody knowing right now!

How’s Mama feeling?

I’m feeling, well, pregnant. I am an emotional basket case. One minute, I’m laughing so hard I could fall over, and in the same breathe, I start sobbing for absolutely no reason. I’m feeling very tired, especially in the mornings and early afternoons. TJ has also given me a new name- Pregersaurus. The name has been given because I’m an endless pit! I’m starving! I’m craving lots and lots of Mexican food. I’m also experiencing a lot of cramping intermittently, which I am told is the normal uterus expanding pain that is expected during the first trimester. Luckily, I haven’t had any real nausea (crossing my fingers).

What’s next?

Our first Dr. appointment will be on April 8 when I would be considered 9 weeks (they think I should be five weeks right now). In the meantime, I’m just a little antsy hoping everything is ok in there and just want to hear the little heart go pitter-patter so I can relax a little bit.

Leave a Reply

