Fleeting Moments

“The biggest mistake I made [as a parent] is the one that most of us make. . . . I did not live in the moment enough. This is particularly clear now that the moment is gone, captured only in photographs. There is one picture of [my three children] sitting in the grass on a quilt in the shadow of the swing set on a summer day, ages six, four, and one. And I wish I could remember what we ate, and what we talked about, and how they sounded, and how they looked when they slept that night. I wish I had not been in such a hurry to get on to the next thing: dinner, bath, book, bed. I wish I had treasured the doing a little more and the getting it done a little less.”

-Anna Quindlen(Loud and Clear [2004], 10–11)

My goal as Sadie gets bigger and as our little family grows larger is that I never take moments for granted. I never want to be in such a hurry, or have to feel like I have to stay on a schedule so much so that the wonderful moments of watching our child learn, play, and thrive are missed.

Just last night we opted to skip Sadie’s bath time before bed because we just didn’t feel like it after having a long day. What happened in its place was a wonderful family time I will never forget because Sadie had so much fun wrestling, playing peek-a-boo behind the walls, and laughing so hard you couldn’t see her eyes from her squinting with both me and TJ.

I love those memories and those moments in time…



One thought on “Fleeting Moments

  1. Jess, You are an WONDERFUL mother!!!! you can tell sadie feels so loved , by the look in her eyes, especially when she is looking at her mommy, she just has that special look in her eyes,, she loves you so very much,, you & TJ are doing a WONDERFUL job being parents, you’ve got one happy baby girl to prove it,, We love you & miss you all so very much!!!!
    love mom ( AKA nana)

Leave a Reply

