Living Out of a Catalog

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for He has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” -Hebrews 13:5

We live frugally. We follow Dave Ramsey and aim for living debt free. The road to paying of debt comes with a lot of sacrifice. Sometimes I wish I didn’t have to sacrifice all the time. There are so many people who don’t ever have to work hard for anything and get everything their hearts’ desire and more on a silver platter.

I came home from the new place crying my eyes out having a pity party for myself because this home we’re moving into is in no way my dream home. My little nephew said it best when he said, “Is this it, Aunt Jessie?” My thoughts exactly little man!

I was stressing the fact that the dumb washing machine that sits in our kitchen (afterthought of a European style kitchen, people) is so big it blocks a cabinet and drawer that would be useful seeing as how I only have 2 more cupboards to use for the rest of my kitchen.

I stood in the kitchen and thought, “Where are my granite counter tops?! Why aren’t the cabinets white?! Linoleum on the floor?! Really?!

Thank goodness for having an amazing husband who can speak wisdom and slap a piece of reality back into my thick head sometimes in such a loving way. He reminded me of the intensity we are going to be able to have to pay off debt that much quicker because we are going to live where we are.

“This is our temporary home, it’s not where we belong
Windows and rooms that we’re passing through
This is just a stop on the way to where we’re going
I’m not afraid because I know this is our temporary home”

-Carrie Underwood

But TJ said something to me that stuck.

He explained that living overseas the majority of his life while growing up as an Army brat he spent lots of time looking through catalogs from the U.S. wishing and coveting over all the toys and clothes he wish he could have. But it would just start to drive him nuts that he couldn’t have it.

And then he said, “You just have to stop living out of a catalog.”

So, my home won’t be looking quite as nice as the perfect living room out of my favorite Pottery Barn catalog. But I’m proud of the house we’re building for ourselves. A house that is healthy, loving, and focused on being good stewards of all God has blessed us with…

I’m proud of the house we built.
It’s stronger than sticks, stones, and steel.
It’s not a big place sittin’ up high on some hill.
A lot of things will come and go but love never will.
Oh, I’m proud.
I’m proud of the house we built.

-Brooks & Dunn

One thought on “Living Out of a Catalog

Leave a Reply

