It’s the Little Things

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18).

Praying has always been tricky for me. Sometimes my prayer life is less than exciting. Sometimes I feel like I’m talking to myself and God is completely removed. Sometimes I feel like I’m praying, but don’t have much faith that things will go well despite His presence. Or sometimes I pray and am hesitant with the Lord because I’m honestly scared about God’s outcome for my requests. Basically, I’m a sinner trying to get it together.

Despite my own shortcomings, I have been praying a lot lately. And in this  season of my life, I am seeing God answer my prayers even though they have been about little things. It’s not like I’m praying for huge miracles to happen, or for countries to change. I’m praying as a relatively new mom and a devoted wife looking for wisdom and guidance in the small, every day things that make or break us.

I prayed for new tires for TJ’s car. We got an anonymous check delivered on Christmas Eve that paid for them. We were blown away.

I prayed for new toys for Sadie. An old high school friend contacted me and gave us a new table for coloring, a complete stranger gave us a tricycle that Sadie is desperately trying to figure out with passionate curiosity, and her cousins made a special delivery this morning with a bunch of outdoor toys that will make our backyard a private park.

I prayed for our washing machine to get fixed because cloth diapering means a lot of loads. Old family friends are taking care of it.

I prayed for clarity in new ideas I could do without compromising Mommyhood to make supplemental income and landed the perfect opportunity in the near future (as long as God continues to provide miraculously to make it happen and further affirm my desire).

I prayed for my little niece who wasn’t sleeping for a variety of reasons and she’s finally doing amazing-sleeping longer stretches than she ever has in her little life.

I’m not at all saying that as soon as you ask for something, God will swoop in and answer your prayers exactly how you want them to turn out. Sometimes God is completely silent and never answers for His own reasons. I have plenty of those. But I’m so thankful that in times of my own doubting, God has chosen to restore my soul by giving me the answers to the little things.

To most, they probably are silly and are minuscule. But to me, they mean everything.

8 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things

  1. Thank you for this post Jessie. It is just what I needed to hear [/read]. Definitely a slap in the face + a breath of fresh air.

    Love to you, dear friend.

    • Glad I could help give you a good slap! The breath of fresh air is an added bonus too! ;0) Love you too…hope you’re doing well!

  2. Thanks for posting this… I was great for me to read. I definitely need to continue to spend more time in prayer for my family’s situation…. somtimes it is so tough to just calm down and pray during the midst of the storm. But every time I do, I definitely feel the Lord’s peace. Thanks for the encouraging post! See you tomorrow@ Mom’s and More! So glad that we’v connected! 🙂

    • I hear you! Sometimes we just have to pause and give up so God can speak clearly to us! It goes against everything in me to be like that sometimes when I want to run to fix everything myself…glad it was an encouragement to you!

  3. I love how God does that. I have been really convicted about not asking God about the mundane details of my life and one day I just asked God what he wanted the boys and I to do. I’m not going to say God said “Go to Ken Hahn State Park,” but I just asked if that was what he wanted. We went and I met an orthodox woman who I really hit it off with. We chatted very openly about our beliefs while our kids played. It was pretty cool.

  4. Pingback: A New Venture | The Brown Bag

  5. Pingback: A New Venture | In The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

