A New Venture

I told ya’ll I was up to somethin’!

Well…here it is…

Background

For those of you who know me, you know that my labor story with Sadie is far from the norm. Specifically everything that happened post-delivery with my gestational congestive heart failure due to an over-accumulation of fluid left in my body after the ravages of pre-eclampsia, a long labor, and finally and unwanted, unplanned C-section.

I had always wanted to breastfeed, but having to be separated from Sadie 3 days after her birth for an entire day and a half while Dr.’s worked to save my life posed some real challenges when it came to being successful in my commitment to exclusively breastfeed.

The Issues

Because of our separation, we had to immediately deal with a low supply, major latching issues, and nipple confusion. On top of that, we also contracted thrush for 2 months that made breastfeeding so unbearably painful for us both that we would be in tears, screaming through 45 minute feedings only to have to supplement with formula after all the pain.

Later on, we had numerous nursing strikes and a month long stint of double mastitis.

To put it mildly, we had it rough.

My lactation consultant saw me writhing in pain during a session when thrush was at it’s worst, and she looked at me like I was nuts for not having given up already. Then she said something I’ll never forget.

She said, “You’ll never give up on her, will you?”

Through my tears, I said without any hesitation, “Never.”

I wanted to breastfeed too badly to give up.

The Decision

Now, 16 months later, Sadie and I have a wonderful nursing relationship  that has enabled her to grow up healthfully and develop a strong immune system, a strong Mother-daughter bond, and all the wonderful advantages breast milk has to offer.

Breastfeeding has become so much a part of my life and so much of a passion, that I have decided to use my prior experiences and challenges to help other Moms be successful in their own experiences also.

I’ve always loved being in a “helping” profession (Speech Pathology) and I’ve needed to find something that I could do on my own schedule that would bring in some supplemental income to kick our debt even faster without compromising my role as Sadie’s and Baby Brown’s Mama.

Being a Lactation Counselor/Educator and then hopefully moving on to Lactation Consultant is the perfect blend of something we need and something I want.

Luckily, many of my Undergrad classes have prepped me to go through the program quickly! So be on the lookout for Mama’s who need some help because I’m going to be ready in willing by mid-summer!

If this doesn’t work out, I guess I could always just sell my breast milk to this ice cream shop in London. (wink, wink!)

4 thoughts on “A New Venture

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan | The Brown Bag

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan « The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

