I Can’t Afford to Save Anymore Money!

My Dad said this to me after he sent me grocery shopping when I was 19 and my Mom had just passed away. TJ was visiting me in California (we were dating at the time), and I had no clue what I was doing. I just saw sale tag after sale tag saying 2/$5, 2/$6 so I started filling the basket with those things.

Over a $100 later and not a whole lot to show for it with an explaination of my methodical (and naive) thought process when I got home, my Dad said, “I can’t afford to save anymore money!”

My Point

Sometimes the best way to save money is to simply not spend it in the first place. Today, thanks to the internet, we are bombarded with ways to save. There’s Groupon, Living Social, etc. that go straight into your inbox every morning. There’s ads coming in the mail. There’s tempting sales to hit at all different kinds of stores. And there are most likely people in your life who have things you want that you have convinced yourself that you need.

Living in the land of the intentionally frugal for sometime now, I have had to be purposeful about striking a balance. My goal is to make TJ’s hard earned paycheck stretch as far as it can go.

Regardless of how inundated you may become with all the ways to save money, the bottom line is that if you don’t have the money to spend on the deal, then you shouldn’t be spending it at all. If it’s not written out in your budget, then you can’t afford the deal no matter how good it is.

Example: Groupon had a great deal for 1/2 off at Armstrong’s Garden. We could have spent $50 worth for $25 on various plants/gardening needs.

Lesson: We already spent our allotted budget on gardening for the month and are out of WAM (walking around money) until the next pay period.

Bottom Line: Even though it’s a good deal, it wasn’t good enough if I go into debt doing it. No thank you!

So remember as you see sale after sale, or something on clearance, or something you think is a “must-have” that sometimes you just can’t afford to save anymore money!

4 thoughts on “I Can’t Afford to Save Anymore Money!

  1. You’re so right! I think that just going to Target or shopping in general makes me fell like I need more stuff – that I didn’t even know was there! We have to be purposeful… I like your thoughts about lots of these things… I need to do some meal planning! šŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Frugal Fatigue Syndrome | The Brown Bag

  3. Pingback: Frugal Fatigue Syndrome | In The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

