Garlic Parmesan Salad Dressing

If you love garlic, and I mean love it, you will die for this salad dressing.

I had completely forgotten about this recipe my Mom used to make all the time growing up until this past weekend when all of a sudden, a pregnancy craving for it came with a vengeance. I could only remember the flavors and the textures, but not the recipe.

Luckily, both of my older brothers were able to put their heads together and recall everything that went in it. We went in the kitchen and played with it until we got it just right. And boy, when it was right, it was heaven! We just tasted it and knew we had nailed it just like Mom used to make it.

There’s nothing better than a recipe from your childhood that instantly throws you back in time. It was honestly the first time I could hear my Mom’s voice in my head after years of silence now. I could see her standing at the cutting board in our old kitchen crushing the garlic into her silver bowl while she made funny faces in her bare feet with our toy poodle, Hershey begging for something to drop to the ground beside her.

And what makes it even better is that garlic and I have such a special bond. If you love garlic like I love garlic, you know what I mean.

This recipe has always been tossed in a salad as a dressing, but you could certainly branch out with it by using it as a marinade for meat or grilling some artichokes and using it as a dip after you’ve brushed some on in the grilling process. Or you could just drink it like a fine glass of wine. Okay…I’m kidding. Not really.


So, without further adieu, a recipe from Shara’s kitchen:

Ingredients:

  • 6 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/4 fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/4-1/2 c. Parmesan cheese
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions:

Put all ingredients into a salad dressing jar and shake!

3 thoughts on “Garlic Parmesan Salad Dressing

  1. Jesse,

    Great recipe, I will test it on Mr Silverman tonight. Even better, hearing your mother’s voice for the first time in, lo, these many years. I remember when my mother began “speaking” to me again…it was a truly blessed day.

    Be well, little mama. God bless you.

    Rogena

  2. Pingback: Setting Priorities for Grocery Shopping on a Budget | The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

