Snack Idea: Homemade Fruit Leathers

Sadie loves fruit leathers of all kinds. But those little suckers can really put a damper on my grocery budget seeing as how she would eat 5 of them a day if I let her. She’s always asking for more, but at 49 cents and up retail, we’ve tried to stick to it being a special snack.

Not anymore. My girl lucked out. I tried my hand at making my own with some of our frozen berry stash this past weekend, and it was a huge hit that cost me pennies. In fact, I got $12 worth of fruit leathers for 5 cups of fruit. And the best part is I know exactly what ingredients I’m feeding her.

I used blueberries, bananas, and honey for this round, but the variations are limitless.  Later this week, I plan on doing them again with applesauce. Yummm!

Here’s a couple of great links for some inspiration and explanation since I was too lazy to take my own pictures this time around!

Tasty Kitchen’s Strawberry Fruit Leathers

Georgia Pellegrini’s

Momtastic

2 thoughts on “Snack Idea: Homemade Fruit Leathers

  1. Pingback: Wheat-Free & Gluten-Free Food Finds & Menu Plan | The Brown Bag

  2. Pingback: Wheat-Free & Gluten-Free Food Finds & Menu Plan | In The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

