Third Trimester

How far along? 28 weeks

Food cravings? If you must know, your organic loving, healthy-minded Jessie wants nothing but a chili hot dog (dog must have a snap when you bite into it) doused in fresh chopped onions and a tiny bit of sharp cheddar cheese. Top that off with a snickers bar and some of Trader Joe’s grapefruit Italian soda and I’m simply left speechless.

Who says that doesn’t sound a-m-a-z-i-n-g?!!!

I disgust myself, really.

Only consolation to this odd craving is that I’ve only gained 15 pounds for the entire pregnancy so far. And I’m taking my prenatals. And I like fruit. And salad.

Weird pregnancy symptoms? Oh, the heartburn. Maybe if I didn’t eat something like the silly hot dog I could make it through the day. Honestly though, water gives me heartburn.

Baby movement?  Little boy is such an active baby compared to Sadie (her placenta was in the front so I couldn’t feel much). I’m hoping this means he’s decided to move from sitting indian-style deep down in my pelvis to head down and ready to exit the right way. We’ll see at my next prenatal appointment this week. He usually goes full throttle with the karate chops at 9:00-10:30 am, 2:30-3:00ish pm, and again for a couple hours at night starting around 9:00 pm.

Something learned?  I can’t do everything I want to do. I’m really starting to slow down and I have to pick and choose the things that are most important to me that I want to reserve my energy for. I have to let the dishes sit in the sink. I have to leave the toys on the floor. And I have to not feel guilty that TJ has to come home from work and pick up a lot of the slack. It reminds me a lot of my Endo days and my biggest lesson of “Doing what you can and do it well.”

Best moment from this past week?  I was sitting on the couch and my belly started moving all over the place. I called Sadie over to watch and she put her hands on my belly. He immediately gave a good kick right where her hand was resting. Sadie was shocked and said, “Broda sirry (brother silly).” It was such a sweet moment. I can’t wait for them to meet!

2 thoughts on “Third Trimester

  1. Jessie, you must know that there are several great places in LA to accommodate your food craving. Pinks, Carneys, Oki’s and the list goes on. Come on up! I don’t necessarily have cravings right now, but plain old water is really gross to me. Must. have. lemon. Ice cold sparkling water with lemon is preferred!

    Do you know anything about belly mapping? By paying attention to the baby’s movements (what type of movement happens where) and doing some poking around you can tell how he’s sitting. It’s pretty cool.

    I love the story about Sadie. Take it easy. I remember feeling like I could climb a mountain after Aitan was born. It’s just tiring being pregnant and having another child to take care of. Especially if she has a lot of energy!

  2. I had heard of belly mapping, but didn’t know anything about it. I started reading spinning baby’s website and am going to pay more attention. So cool!

    Plain water grossed me out in the beginning too! I love it now though.

    Thanks so much for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

