Low Expectations

Psalm 5:3- In the  morning, O LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay down my requests before you and wait in expectation.

I have a confession to make. For such a long time now I have been in a sort of rut when it comes to God and how He can move in my life. Especially in the life of my family. I have viewed my own shortcomings and past mistakes as a hindrance to fully allow God in to use our circumstances for the better beyond anything I could imagine.

Mark Batterson, the author of “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day” says,

“One of our greatest spiritual shortcomings is low expectations. We don’t expect much from God because we aren’t asking for much.”

This is the true story of my prayer life since we moved back to California from Dallas in 2009. When I pray, I don’t ask for much. Mostly because of my own limitations I have set on myself, and mostly because we don’t have much, so I don’t ask for much.

This mostly applies to our finances.

I could be asking God to do big things for us. To open doors that I think are impossible. To provide opportunities I could never imagine. To do away with such a heavy burden that we carry every day as we try as hard as we possibly can to do right.

But instead, I ask Him to simply allow us to survive for the next month. To allow TJ to keep his job stability. And to keep food on the table, clothes on our backs, and a roof over our heads.

All of those things are good to pray for, but they are simple. God can do so much more than that but I have set limits to what God can do in the life of my family because to me, it seems impossible.

So, instead I am challenging myself to pray with larger expectations because I know God is in the business of providing. I will pray for things I would never think possible and allow God to do what He wishes…big or small.

2 thoughts on “Low Expectations

  1. Beautiful post, timely for me, too. I have clung to Ephesians 3:20–He is able to do exceedingly, abundantly beyond all that we ask or think! Love that. Xoxo

  2. Pingback: Timing is Everything | The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

