Two Lessons Learned from a Mommy of Two

Lesson #1: You have to get up before everyone else in the morning if you want to be sane for the rest of the day.

I have yet to abide by the rule because I haven’t adjusted to the broken sleep through the night with Jonah yet, but I’m paying for it dearly during the day as a result.

It’s imperative for my own sanity that I get up before everyone to shower and take care of myself. The morning time is just too demanding or chaotic otherwise.

I find myself frustrated that I’m nursing Jonah while blow drying my hair, while checking my email, while telling Sadie for the 5th time that she needs to be patient for breakfast to be made while I’m cleaning whatever I can in the living room with my toes.

Moms are great at multi-tasking, but we all have our limits.

It’s also a little invasive for me to open the shower curtain and see both of my kiddos just sitting there staring me down, waiting for me to be finished.

So, for the sake of some alone time and some quiet before the madness starts in…the days for Mommy will be starting much earlier.

Lesson #2: Life gets really messy really fast.

I like to be organized. I’m a planner. I like things to go according to how I envision them in my head.

Even more, I like to look like I’ve got it all together, because I try so hard to keep things in my life orderly so they make sense to me and those around me.

But life as a Mom of two is just a mess.

I haven’t menu planned in over a month.

I have a stack of at least 15 coupon inserts I have yet to cut….many of them are probably expired.

We’ve had one too many meals through a drive-thru.

There are things coming down on my head when I open my closet door.

I have yet to clean the bath tub despite the visible ring of dirt left by Sadie’s hard-played days.

Even as I write this, I have yet to shower today despite the spit-up caked in my hair.

I have had numerous occasions since Jonah’s birth where I have just broke down in tears of defeat with TJ because even with his help, I still can’t manage to get everything done that I want to do that I easily accomplished with one child.

Regardless of  how I feel about the chaos of my life right now and just how messy everything seems to feel, I still have to remind myself that I can only do so much in a day and that this is a season of my life that will be finished as soon as I figure out how to do it all.

My kids need menot the dishes cleaned. It’s a hard lesson for me to stop and just be, but I’m being forced to learn it quickly!

4 thoughts on “Two Lessons Learned from a Mommy of Two

  1. Funny how we so quickly forget those lessons we learned the first time around. And with a toddler & newborn it doesn’t seem easier to “let things go”. Praying for you! Please let me know if we can ever come over to play with Sadie & hold Jonah so you can clean the floors or take a shower… even if it only stays clean for 15 min, it always makes me feel better that I did it and accomplished something!

  2. So you don’t know me but I am friend to Deanna Buoniconti. And I just want to say thanks for this post. I SO needed to hear this. I have a one year old and I am due this December 2011. My kids will be 14 months apart and I have a husband who is wonderful but works crazy shifts hours. Mostly graveyard shifts. So that means he is working during the nights and asleep during the day. Which means I do the nights by myself and still tend to the children during the day. I am a lot nervous! I am already stressed about how this is going to pan out. I am praying everyday for God to be my source of encouragement. I saw this post and it was one source of encouragement in my day today. You didn’t know it but it is just nice to know I am not in this alone. Other moms feel like they are crying all the time too. I will pray for you and your situation.

    • Hi Paulina,

      Thanks so much for the comment on my blog! Being a Mommy is demanding no matter what the situation, but I find that the challenges of our days make us rise up to the occasion and cause us to rely on God’s strength…not our own. Just the fact that you are aware of the pragmatical challenges you will face makes you an intentional Mom and that’s always a good Mom!

      By the way, you have one gorgeous little girl there!

      Love, Jessie

  3. Dear Jessie,

    I just had to love when I read this post, not at you but with you, because even if you aren’t laughing at the moment you will be. Sometimes laughter is the only way to keep sane especially after you just picked up one room to find that although the baby is content in his crib the other two very active children have creatively made a mess in another room. The other night my husband and I were cleaning up the school room at about 11:45p.m. and he commented on how it seemed like we couldn’t keep up with them. All I could do was laugh and told him that this was actually the office of two very creative artists and so the tiny pieces of paper that had been left were actually parts of their masterpieces. Not sure he bought it. 🙂 But laughing about it is much better than sitting and crying about it – which I too did the first month our third baby was here.
    Blessings to you and your sweet family.

Leave a Reply

