The Juicing Project

Like I mentioned in a previous post, there are some self-improving things I am working on to gain back myself a bit as I adjust to being a Mama of two littles.

One area is taking care of myself better by being more selfish.

I lack when it comes to eating right in the last 3 months. Don’t get me wrong. I have a ton of healthy options stocked in our kitchen and we make it a priority not to eat junk (other than when I’m pregnant and crave it).

But since Jonah has been born, I have found myself either not eating at all,  or inhaling food in mass volumes simply because I don’t know when the next opportunity to eat will come or because I have to eat fast when I’m needed.

The most irritating thing to me is that it’s been hard for me to fit in my fruits and veggies when I haven’t prepped them ahead of time so I can just grab on the go.

Here’s where my life-saver has come in and where my goal will be accomplished:

This beauty, the Breville Compact Juice Fountain, is my five minutes of selfishness in the mornings where I juice myself a nutritious breakfast that sets me up for a good day. I’ve only had it a couple of days, but already see the difference in how it makes me feel throughout. I don’t have a blaring headache by 10:00 am, I don’t feel hungry in the afternoon, and I love the fact that I can drink several servings and fresh fruits and veggies in one shot.

As I find yummy concoctions, I’ll post recipes and little tidbits on the benefits on each ingredient.

6 thoughts on “The Juicing Project

  1. YEAH-HOO! Juicing is really one of the BEST things you can do for yourself! You will continue to notice a huge increase in energy and the nutrients you are giving to your body (and your little guy) are off the charts. Here’s a great Ginger Juice recipe:
    1 inch slice ginger (you don’t need to take off the peel)
    1 fresh lemon
    5-6 carrots
    1 seeded apple
    You can also get nut milk bags to strain the juice, if you want a little less fiber or grittiness in the juice.
    GOOD FOR YOU for being more “selfish”…the irony is that in your “selfishness”, you will bless your family in a huge way. Lots of love on your journey of health…

  2. Jessie,

    One, I love your blog. Totally following you. Two, good for you! Sometimes it can be hard to ensure we are consuming nutritious foods the normal way…like eating it. Ha! Juicing is a great way to get those wholesome nutrients in your body. Keep it going!

  3. Pingback: Elimination Diet Update for Jonah « The Brown Bag

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan « The Brown Bag

  5. Pingback: Juicing Project: Beets for Your Breasts « The Brown Bag

  6. Pingback: Juicing Project: Beets for Your Breasts | In The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

