Mama’s Goin’ on a Diet

Now, it’s not what you think. I’m not cutting my calories, joining Weight Watchers, or going on an all-juice fast. I’m not even doing it because I want to lose weight, although it will inevitably be a nice side effect, I’m sure.

Take a look at this:

Because of that picture, I will be eliminating the 8 top allergens from my diet immediately. Jonah’s eczema started as a mild baby rash that has just gotten out of control with the more time that passes. I’ve been through this with Sadie and all of her allergies, so I have no clue why I didn’t connect the dots until today, but he obviously has some major food allergies that are being passed through my milk from what I am eating.

It hit me like a ton of bricks today when I realized the past few weeks he has been increasingly fussy instead of his normal calm, his sleeping has deteriorated drastically, and his eczema has simultaneously taken off to the point of pure pain, I’m sure. There is no doubt in my mind all of these factors collide with the same mystery cause.

I sent my friend in Arizona the picture of his back and she called me two minutes later and the tears were already flowing. Breastfeeding is the best thing you can do for your baby’s health and immunity. It kills me and pains me that I am obviously causing a bad reaction for his little body. Luckily, she’s amazing with words and has been through the battle and back with her daughter and gave me my battle plan along with a good dose of encouragement.

I will be taking out the following allergens from my diet for quite a while and will be slowly adding in one at a time until I am sure of the culprit(s):

  • Milk
  • Egg
  • Peanuts
  • Tree nuts (such as walnuts or almonds)
  • Fish
  • Shellfish
  • Soy
  • Wheat

Please pray for our little guy and that he gets relief soon. Breaks a Mama’s heart.

17 thoughts on “Mama’s Goin’ on a Diet

  1. Oh, how we understand those pesky food allergies! I’m so sorry your little guy is suffering 😦 But GOOD FOR YOU for not accepting it as “just” a skin rash that he’ll grow out of (as many doctors will tell you) – you are being proactive and taking the necessary steps to heal the root of the problem, not just the symptom. I know you are juicing, but I also wanted to offer you the info for the green smoothies, which give your body (and your milk) a HUGE nutrition boost. Not that you need one.more.thing. to take on, but one green smoothie a day can do wonders for you and Jonah πŸ™‚ Here’s a link to the website I went through: http://www.terawarner.com/
    Hope it’s helpful and not burdensome :-/
    Keep up the good work, mama!! xoxo

  2. Pingback: Elimination Diet Update for Jonah « The Brown Bag

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan « The Brown Bag

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan « The Brown Bag

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan « The Brown Bag

  6. Pingback: Food Storage for the Frugal « The Brown Bag

  7. Pingback: Allergy Update-The Resuts are Finally In « The Brown Bag

  8. Pingback: New Ways to Stick to Your Grocery Budget « The Brown Bag

  9. Pingback: $33 Grocery Challenge: The Menu Plan « The Brown Bag

  10. Pingback: Recipe: Creamy Coconut Coffee Shakeology « The Brown Bag

  11. Pingback: Recipe: Creamy Coconut Coffee Shakeology | In The Brown Bag

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan- Discovering Your Favorite Food | In The Brown Bag

  13. Pingback: Allergy Update-The Results are Finally In | In The Brown Bag

  14. Pingback: Elimination Diet Update for Jonah | In The Brown Bag

  15. Pingback: Growing Up with a Severe Food Allergy | In The Brown Bag

  16. Pingback: Eating Without Guilt | In The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

