Menu Plan

Planning a menu around my Elimination Diet for Jonah has only been getting more challenging lately. In addition to cutting out all of the top 8 allergens, I have discovered a couple foods I have to add to the “no-no” list because they make him gassy to the point that he fusses all day and night. Not fun. So onto the list goes broccoli, beans (how I normally survive), and borderline on spinach.

The other main thing we found out is that tomatoes are just awful for his eczema. I have had them twice and both times have produced a baby broken out in pain the next morning when he went to bed happy and clear. I have tried one last time to eat some marinara tonight just to solidify that we’re right, but we’re pretty positive tomorrow morning will not be pretty for him.

I have to admit that it’s hard. Sometimes lately I feel like my milk is hurting more than helping him because his system seems to be so sensitive. But I know despite the setbacks, there is still so much good coming from me nursing him exclusively. I won’t quit. I didn’t quit when I was separated from Sadie after birth with heart failure having to build up a milk supply from nothing despite persistent, glass shattering thrush and I won’t quit on Jonah despite his allergies. Now or later they would have to be addressed. And these setbacks and challenges are exactly why I love breastfeeding so much that I became a CLEC!

I’m taking the challenge head on and will press on!

So here’s what we’re eating this week. No allergens. No tomatoes. No beans. No broccoli. No spinach. No problem.

  1. Vegan Pesto
  2. Baked Turkey Taquitos & Salad
  3. Grilled Cheese & Salad (just a huge salad for me)
  4. Mexican Chicken Stew
  5. Oatmeal Waffles & Eggs (no eggs for me)
  6. Herb Turkey & Potato Skillet

Snacks:

Picture Credit

4 thoughts on “Menu Plan

  1. You are doing the very best thing for both yourself AND Jonah by continuing to breastfeed no. matter. what. I’m proud of you!

    A possible substitute for tomatoes might be tomatillos. I used to make my own green tomatillo sauce by throwing chunked up tomatillos and onions into a pot of boiling water to which chicken flavored “Better Than Boullion” and whole cilantro seed is added. Cover and boil until soft and add minced cilantro or parsley and salt and pepper. Then use a stick blender and blend it until most of the chunks are gone. It is fantastic over baked potatoes or rice.

    I also make my own hummus from chickpeas. Let me know if you are interested in this recipe. I add stuff like cooked mushrooms and black olives, or roasted red peppers and lemon and other great roasted veggies to the hummus while I am processing the hummus. I think chickpeas are legumes, not beans, but you would know since you have reactions to beans. Also think about cooking with black-eyed peas or Puy (French) Lentils (deep green and look like tiny marbles, have marvelous flavor).

    I hope I didn’t already send this recipe to you, but we have this every Saturday morning. This is a vegan recipe for the most fantastic pancakes ever (no milk, no oil, no butter):
    1 cup rye flour
    1 cup wheat flour (or substitute what you can eat; oat, rice, whatever)
    1 tsp vanilla extract
    1/2 tsp salt
    2 tsp white sugar (it’s not enough to hurt anything but kind of necessary)
    2 tsp baking powder (NOT soda)
    1 tsp or more pumpkin pie spice
    2 cups coconut milk or almond milk

    Mix it all up. Let it sit about 5 minutes. If it is still too thick, just add more nut milk. This recipe is so easy, just add more of whatever you need in roughly the same dimensions. The only two things that must be added are the baking powder and the salt, which causes the pancakes to rise.

    Cook in a nonstick pan on medium high heat until brown on bottom, then flip. Serve with flavored agave pancake syrup.

    I know its hard to not eat the things you like, but believe me, the time will quickly come when he is weaned and you can resume eating these favorite things. Meanwhile, I wonder whether you also might be sensitive to the things he is. It stands to reason in a way. I remember the time I nursed Caleb after having a Mexican dinner (my favorite). Poor kid! is all I can say…no chilis for you!
    Love, Madelyn

    • Thanks for the tomatillo idea and recipe! That sounds amazing!!! You and I could really make a big mess in the kitchen but it would be a really good feast! Keep the ideas and recipes coming!

      Love,Jess

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Hang in there. I know a couple mamas who weaned because baby was reacting to something in their milk only to discover (too late) that baby is also allergic to formula. 😦

    My kids’ naturopath compares the body to a bucket. It can take things that are aggravating for only so long before it starts overflowing. However, the positive side is that once you get some of that bucket emptied, you can often add back some things in moderation that are absolute no-no’s now. I’ve seen it with my own 2 year old, and in many of my friends’ children.

    Anyway, I just wanted to say “Hang in there.” Things will get better. You are doing so much for your son by addressing his problems instead of medicating them. I hope you find solutions quickly.

    Cheers,
    Sarah
    (Madelyn’s daughter)

Leave a Reply

