$33 Grocery Challenge: The Menu Plan

For the full story of what I’m doing and why, go here.

Okay…I’ll be the first to admit that shopping for 4 mouths on $33 for an entire week is no easy feat. It’s intimidating. But people all over the country who are out of work are having to face this very real dilemma with their families everyday. And most are convinced that you have to eat off a dollar menu at a drive-thru. It’s my goal to show you that is not the case.

Even though I have many of the items already on hand as a part of my frugal pantry stock, I’ll be buying every ingredient needed to pull off the recipes, with exception of spices and oils which most people buy on an irregular basis.

Is the plan glamorously Culinary Institute of America caliber? No. 

Is it well rounded? Yes.

I focused on healthy, clean eating, elimination diet friendly dishes we enjoy first and foremost and then narrowed down my menu options to ingredients I can find easily on sale and/or in the bulk aisles. I even accounted for a splurge day where we can BBQ some chicken sausages one night for the 4th of July. Yep…you can still splurge with a limited budget and you should!

Victory or failure, I will be posting my loot with my prices tomorrow so stay tuned!

Here it is:

1. Lentil Tacos & Salad

2. Chicken Sausages & Grilled Corn

3. Bean, Brown Rice & Roasted Veggie Burrito Bowls

4. Quinoa Pasta with Roasted Garlic Marinara & Veg

5. Oatmeal Blender Waffles, Fruit & Scrambled Eggs (for TJ & Sadie)

If you are planning to do this challenge with me, let me know. Or if you’re remotely interested, tell me your thoughts!

3 thoughts on “$33 Grocery Challenge: The Menu Plan

  1. Pingback: $33 Grocery Challenge Results « The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

