$33 Grocery Challenge Results

I did it! We’re eating for $33 and we’re doing it the clean way! No packaged and processed junk here!

Let me just say that it is HARD shopping with two little ones and keeping that close of an eye on your budget. I literally brought in my $33 in cash and nothing else so I was forcing myself to succeed.

So many times it’s so easy to have the cash in hand that is allocated for grocery spending, go over budget and then just decide to whip out the debit card. Give yourself boundaries and then FEEL GOOD when you stay within them.

It also meant saying no a lot more to Sadie. She is at that age now where she is wanting her favorite snacks or wants a reward for being a good helper in each store. But with $33 I had to look at the bigger picture. I even had to say no to myself! I’m proud of her learning how to deny herself now so that later in life she understands just because you want something or you think you deserve it, doesn’t mean you should or will get it. Our society doesn’t teach that lesson well.

My biggest find today was in a clearance basket at Sprouts where I scored three boxes of TJ’s favorite cereal for .99 cents each.

My biggest “ah-ha” moment was shopping the bulk section. Normally, sale or no sale I buy as much as I will be able to store in my containers at home without much thought because I know I’m already getting rock bottom prices given I’m not paying for packaging. But when you are on that fixed of a budget, you may need to just buy enough for that meal and wait until there is a sale on that particular item to stock up big time.

I literally poured and weighed each bulk item to make sure I was getting enough to pull off each recipe, but paying no more than I needed to in order to stay within my money limit. All while holding my i-phone in one hand with my list, talking Sadie away from the peanut section of the aisle, and stopping Jonah from banging his head for fun on the back of the shopping cart.

It can be done!

Here is everything I bought for a grand total of $32.49 cents:

  • 18 organic eggs
  • 3 pound bag tortilla chips (our diet splurge)
  • .75 pounds of lentils
  • .54 pounds brown rice
  • .75 pounds pinto beans
  • .40 pounds rolled oats
  • 1.25 pounds chicken sausage
  • 1/2 pound apricots
  • 1.5 pounds apples
  • 2 heads lettuce
  • 4 ears of corn
  • 1.5 pounds onions
  • 1 peach (Sadie’s pick)
  • 3 boxes cereal
  • apple crushers (kid snack)
  • half gallon coconut milk
  • can of marinara
  • 2 bananas

To see the $33 Menu Plan, go here and for a couple tips go here and here and check out the “frugal” category on the right hand side.

3 thoughts on “$33 Grocery Challenge Results

  1. Good for you!! We have cut our grocery budget from $600 a month using lots of coupons to $190 a month using coupons. This year however we are going back to basics using food from the garden, dry beans, lots of fruit and veg and trying to cut out the crap. We started The Grocery Game Challenge to post our grocery budget and weekly shops. We have fans post along with us and they love it. Posting your shop will motivate you and hold you accountable. Good for you!!! Mr.CBB

  2. Thats great you were able to stay within the budget! I see that you were able to get all your ingredients to make the dinners on your meal plan, and also that you got eggs that likely covers breakfast, what do you do for lunch? Do you drink your shakeology? Or do you have leftovers from dinner?

    • Great question! We mostly always have a salad for lunch (usually the big organic tub from Costco), but sometimes do Shakeology for lunch instead of breakfast if I decide to have oatmeal for breakfast if I’m having an easy morning with the kids.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

