1,440 Minutes

This is a little odd to me. And just borderline offensive.

I have had a lot of interest in how I have managed to lose all of my pregnancy weight and then some. But as soon as I explain how it has clicked for me and how much better my life has become as a result, I often times get the same response from people who are asking for help:

“I just don’t have enough time in my day to work out.”

With all of the loving kindness and graciousness I can muster, let me lay out my rebuttal to your ridiculous remark and why I’m almost offended.

It isn’t a magic pill, a special juice, or a half-hearted commitment that is done before you even know it began.

It’s called exercise and eating right.

You see, we all have the exact same 24 hours in a day. The same 1,440 minutes. No more, no less. What you choose to do, and how you plan it will either propel you forward toward your own goals or will leave you right where you are.

This isn’t just the case for getting in shape. It can be applied to any facet of your life.

John Maxwell says it perfectly:

“You will never change your life until you change something you do daily. You see, success doesn’t just suddenly occur one day in someone’s life. For that matter, neither does failure. Each is a process. Every day of your life is merely preparation for the next. What you become is the result of what you do today. In other words, you are preparing for something.”

When someone tells me they don’t have the time, I wonder what they think I must do all day. Do you think I sleep in until I wake up naturally, eat a leisurely breakfast, workout for a while, take a nap, sit on my porch swing and read a magazine, go out to dinner, come home and sleep?!

Please.

My life is busy. I have a house to maintain, 2 kids who are two and under, a marriage I am committed to, two self-run businesses, a budget to plan for and stick to, and enough allergies to cook around I can barely see straight. Don’t even get me started on my cleaning schedule that is sorely ignored right now as a result of this busy phase of my own life.

I could easily sit on the couch exhausted at the end of my day and justify having done enough.

Working out and eating clean are choices I have made a priority in my life that are non-negotiable. It also means I have chosen to not do other activities so that I can accomplish these goals.

I focus all of my energy on the things in my life that yield the return I want to see. My faith, my husband, my kids, and my body.

I care about my body because God created it to do work. To grow, carry and nurture my family. To use as a vessel to bless others around me. To be useful and fruitful in the short time I am here on earth. To not take care of my own body is doing a disservice to many more people than myself.

So I make the time. Maybe you need to make the time too.

  • Stop the excuses.
  • Stop justifying your behavior.
  • Stop criticizing a life you don’t even have yet.
  • Quit the negative talk in your head and say something nice to yourself.
  • Plan ahead.
  • Stop feeding yourself when you’re bored.
  • Stop filling an emotional void with food, and replace it with a healthy habit.
  • Quit telling yourself you’re not good enough to do something great.
  • Be consistent, no matter how small you start off.

Today matters. All 1,440 minutes of it. Make it count.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

