Recipes: A is for Apples

I am gearing up to start home schooling Sadie for preschool. Part of our curriculum will be going through each letter of the alphabet and doing activities around each letter like reading, field trips, cooking in the kitchen, crafts, etc.

So “A” being the first letter has me obsessing about and craving apples. We will most likely go visit the airport since it’s not quite yet apple picking time when we start our alphabet, but we will most certainly make our way there just because I want to pick my own apples and make these two snacks as many times as I can in the coming months. Fall is so close I can just taste it.

Cored Apple Slices

  • Sliced apple, cored (we like Pink Lady)
  • Sunbutter (or almond butter, peanut butter, cashew butter, etc.)
  • Rolled oats
  • Dried cranberries

It looks so pretty to me and Sadie and I love eating this for a snack together.

Apple Hummus Sammy

  • 2 Udi’s GF whole grain bread slices
  • Hummus (we use Tahini-free hummus for Sadie’s peanut allergy)
  • Baby romaine leaves
  • Granny Smith apple, sliced thin
  • Dried cranberries

This sammy is nice and light, but is full of good things for something to hold you over in between meals. If I could eat nuts, I would love to put some walnut halves on there also for some added Omega-3’s. Makes me drool. Do it for me.

Thanks to these two links for the ideas.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

