Sadie’s First Day of Preschool

I was anticipating homeschooling Sadie for preschool starting this month, but God had some other plans. And just like He usually does in the life of our family, He swooped in and changed things up at the very last minute and completely answered our prayers.

As much as I was willing and happy to homeschool Sadie at this point, I knew in my heart that being home with me was not what she needed. I wholeheartedly believe that schooling preferences vary according to personalities. While some may thrive on homeschooling, others may not get the same experience they need out of it.

My Sadie has always been a very talkative, social, quality time person. While these are traits I admire in her and will take her far in her life, I know right now she needs someone besides her Mama all day. She craves the social interaction among her peers and I wanted her so badly to be stretched out of her comfort zone in taking direction from other adults besides us, especially me.

So, with less than a 24 hour notice of a vacancy opening up for her class she was on a waiting list for (thanks to Nana and Papa’s foresight), we took it as a sign and accepted her spot.

She was so excited to go despite such short notice.

When he dropped her off it was raining (first rain in months), we left the car running with the keys still in the ignition for over a half hour in the parking lot, and were still signing paperwork back and forth in the car at every red light we hit anxiously saying we needed to leave the house earlier than we did.

Despite how emotional and flustered TJ and I were, Sadie did so well. She went into her class confidently with us and spotted a toy kitchen and baby doll and started cooking that baby of hers dinner right away.

I cried.

We left.

I cried.

I was a crazy stalker Mom looking into her classroom window from every angle taking pictures with my phone. I promised I wouldn’t be that way, but you really have no control at that point.

I cried some more.

And then we left her.

When I picked her up, she proudly told her doll all about her day. The painting, the playground, the songs, her teacher’s favorite color being the same as hers, and the friends.

It’s a new chapter for her life. We leave her knowing full well there at her preschool knowing that this is exactly where God wants her to be and we are so thankful she gets the opportunity to grow in ways she needs.

How did this happen so quickly?!

Mommy and Daddy love you so much Sadie Rae, and can’t wait to watch you grow and learn in ways we can’t even imagine yet.

 

3 thoughts on “Sadie’s First Day of Preschool

  1. It looked like Sadie had a fun first day of preschool. Kay was a proud a Nana. 🙂 Rest assured, Sadie will be loved very much by all us teachers at preschool. So glad she is there Jessie!

  2. Nana B & Poppi Are Soooo VERY PROUD of you Sadie,,,,You are gonna have sooo much fun in your new school,, With your new friends!!!! We Love you & Miss you our BIG girl

Leave a Reply

