Menu Plan

index

Alright, I’ll admit it. I am a food documentary junkie. It all started with Supersize Me and Food, Inc. a couple years ago. Since then, every time we have passed a McDonald’s in Sadie’s lifetime she has learned to say, “Yuck.” Inside it’s a proud moment for me just like it is when she hears a fire truck and says we need to stop and pray. Some things you are just grateful for your kids picking up on from an early age.

Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead is what got me on my juicing project adventure a year ago (still going strong), and Forks Over Knives blows my mind.

My newest favorite to add to my every-growing, obnoxious, obsessive list is Vegucated. Please. If you have any of your five senses intact, experience this documentary. We already were living a pretty heavy plant-based diet, but this documentary got my wheels turning once again.

I don’t know if it’s my own life experience with disease in my family, my children’s severe allergies, or my love of food, but I feel so strongly that food can heal us or hurt us. I see it first hand every day with my Jonah. My perspective on food and faith go hand in hand, growing daily together into something I feel so passionate about it’s becoming hard for me to contain it.

I’m looking forward to developing some recipes that not only fit the bill with the severe food allergies we have to deal with, but recipes that will promote health for me and my family. Even more than that, I’m looking forward to sharing with you what my journey to this point has looked like and what I continue to learn along the way.

1. Vegan Pesto & Roasted Veggies
2. Ancho Lentil Tacos & Roasted Broccoli
3. Black Bean Soup with Cilantro Lime Brown Rice with Cumin Spiced Roasted Bell Peppers
4. Quinoa Chickpea Stir-fry
5. Oatmeal Blender Waffles & Green Smoothies

Leave a Reply

