21 Days: Reclaim, Release, Restore

Beachbody-Ultimate-Reset

The streets of heaven are paved with broccoli stalks and lined with trees brimming with fruit to pick. There’s a never-ending ocean of kale and it rains freshly juiced beets and carrots from ominous artichokes in the sky, I’m sure. Or at least that’s how I have been imagining heaven for the past few months.

Really.

I have felt so unhealthy I actually day dream about this stuff.

The more hairy things got with Jonah’s deteriorating health, the worse I got with my own. I wish I could tell you what I ate the past few months, but by and large it was anything I could stuff in my mouth in a moment that would simply stop the audible sound of hunger coming from my stomach. Some days I didn’t eat anything until the kids were in bed because it was just that bad of a day.

Sure, I had days here and there where things were my usual…

But some days I found myself mindlessly eating out of frustration that Jonah couldn’t eat anything at all. That’s smart, right?! Well…if he won’t eat, I will. Mature, I know.

Let’s not even broach the topic of what chocolate does to a stressed out, over-tired, worried-sick Mommy. The sick relationship has had a break-up coming.

The bottom-line is that I have not felt like myself. I feel unhealthy, off-kilter, undone and it’s showing.

Even though this seems daunting and intimidating, especially given I make everything from scratch for 14 food allergies to tend to, I have decided to begin a 21-day journey doing the Ultimate Reset. UltimateReset-Supplements2

The program-

The Ultimate Reset is basically eating three meals a day from a tested meal plan with recipes included while taking supplements that work in phases to reset your body to maximum health.

Whether it be from the toxins you eat from a not so stellar diet, environmental pollutants, or health issues, each and every one of us can benefit from ridding our bodies of these things and start with a clean slate.

Week 1 is all about prepping your body for change to release toxins. It’s about reclaiming your health by putting good food into your body. You slowly decrease consumption of meat and dairy, which are known to tax your digestion and cause inflammation that are known to be the breeding ground of disease to take a foothold.

Week 2 is the week where you are releasing all of those bad toxins that have built up over time in your tissues, clogging your cells and blocking absorption of nutrients. I’m really looking forward to this week because I feel like I’ll be working on the same thing Jonah is in getting everything good I can into my body with food to help, not hurt my body. At this point, you will be eating a full vegetarian diet.

Week 3 you restore your metabolism to maximum efficiency, putting nutrients, enzymes, and pre-and probiotics back into your system. You’ll cut back further on grains and will be eating mostly fruits and vegetables. The good news is that you can incorporate Vegan Shakeology into the mix. Yes, please.

Remember, this is re-teaching you about food and how it makes you feel when you eat it. No crash dieting, no starvation, no harsh laxatives or missing work so you can be by a bathroom!

My Goal-

For a couple of years now I have been researching on my own what food really does to your body. I know a lot in my head, have implemented things slowly into my life on by one to create habits for my family, and have seen first hand how food is our medicine. I’m really looking forward to my eyes being opened on how I can improve even more. It’s something that means a great deal to me since cancer runs very strong in my family and I have had my own scares that have really made me stop and think about how God wants us to view our bodies and what we put in them.

I’m hoping to have more mental clarity, drop a few added pounds I’ve gained from not eating my norm, and have more energy to keep up with the demands of two little people who never slow down and get the jump start I need to get back to my habit of working out harder than ever while training for my 10K mud run in June. An added bonus would be to stop all the hair loss I’ve had from stress in these past few months.

This is a time to really focus in on me and commit to doing something that will make me a better version of myself…a better wife and a better Mommy.

Come With Me-

This weekend I’ll be buying the food and getting ready for my first day! I’ll be updating the blog on how the process is going…the good, bad and ugly. I’ll post pictures of the new recipes I get to try out and how it is not only impacting my body, but how it impacts my relationship with food and how it relates to my health. Hopefully you will be able to relate and I can be of some encouragement to someone along the way on their own journey to better health. So come with me for the ride!

 

Leave a Reply

