Lickin’ Lentils

I’ve just finished Day 3 of the Ultimate Reset and I am really enjoying it and am already seeing the benefits. I’m sleeping much harder, my energy level throughout the day is up even without my beloved coffee, and I’m thinking clearer. I’m weighing myself tomorrow, but I’m trying to focus on how I’m feeling and not the numbers.

Even though I’m having to do a lot of planning ahead with safe meals for Jonah and prepping myself ahead of time so I’m not neglecting playing with my kiddos, I’m really loving the recipes so far.

I’ve had my eyes opened to just how much I was eating when I got stressed out throughout the day or simply out of boredom. I’m finding that when I get stressed for any reason, I simply need to acknowledge the issue and vocalize it somehow. Whether it be addressing an issue head on with my kids, bouncing something off TJ, or praying it’s much healthier than stuffing my face to temporarily feel better by numbing myself.

I’ve also realized how dehydrated I’ve been chronically. I’m drinking between 1-1.5 gallons of water every day and am feeling amazing just from that change. I also don’t feel the urge to be snacking because of it. I even had a headache yesterday from caffeine withdrawals and found drinking more water took care of it rather than running for the Tylenol.

By far, one of my favorite finds is the lentil-lime salad I had with lunch today.

Oh, mylanta! If I could have been called a lady while licking the bowl, I would have. I won’t hold it against you if you need to…you do what you gotta do!

Lentils are great sources of protein and fiber, so any way you can incorporate them into your diet is a win.

lentils

LENTIL-LIME SALAD

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cooked green lentils
  • ½ cup grated raw carrot
  • ¼ cup finely chopped fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1½ tsp. sesame oil (or more, to taste)
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice (or more, to taste)
  • Bragg® Liquid Aminos or Himalayan salt (to taste)(optional)
  • ¼ tsp. ground cumin (or more, to taste)
  • Herbal seasoning (to taste; optional)

Directions

Cook lentils until tender, but don’t overcook. (Or use Trader Joe’s steamed Lentils) Add carrots and cilantro mix well. Stir oil, lime juice, salt, and spices together in a small bowl, then gently stir into the lentil mixture. Let sit, covered, in refrigerator for 2 hours. Adjust seasonings if needed. Even better the next day! Serves 1.

Nutrition (as prepared above per serving)

  • 320 calories
  • 8 g fat
  • 1 g saturated fat
  • 0 mg cholesterol
  • 50 mg sodium
  • 48 g carbohydrate
  • 17 g fiber
  • 19 g protein
  • 944 mg potassium

Here’s some other highlights of meals I’ve had. I know, I’ve been suffering.

greek

beans

eggs

oatmeal

sushi

 

Leave a Reply

