Allergy Friendly Falafel

falfel2

Growing up I dreaded the days my Mom made falafel for dinner. Something about the smell didn’t jive with my adolescent Jewish schnoz.

I remember my Dad saying, “What kind of Jewish girl doesn’t like falafel, or gefilte fish, or locks on her bagels?!”

It’s true I can be a little picky about my beloved Jewish delectables, but falafel has become one of my all-time favorite foods as an adult. Once Jonah’s food allergies unfolded, I thought there wouldn’t be a way to eat them together as a family any time soon until I decided to do my research. Now it’s a family favorite once again!

Ingredients:

  • 2 c. garbanzo beans
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1/4 c. parsley, chopped
  • 4 tbsp. Ener-G egg replacer
  • 2-2 1/2 c. gluten-free bread crumbs (I use Glutino)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Himalayan pink salt
  • 2 tsp. ground coriander
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 3/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • vegetable oil

Method:

Combine chick-peas with onion. Add parsley, Ener-G eeg replacer and spices. Mix in a food processor or blender. Add breadcrumbs until mixture forms a small ball without sticking to your hands. Form chick-pea mixture in small balls about the size of a quarter (one inch in diameter). Fry until golden brown. (If frying in a pan, flatten them slightly before frying and flip to brown both sides.) Drain on paper towels. Serve with chopped tomato, cucumber, lettuce, onion, hummus, and tehina inside pita.

Adapted from Food Eaters

*If you have a peanut allergy and can’t do conventional hummus, try out my sesame-free Hummus recipe from this post.

 

2 thoughts on “Allergy Friendly Falafel

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan | In The Brown Bag

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan | The Brown Bag

Leave a Reply

