DIY: Kombucha

kombucha

I was elated when my sister-in-law called me, SCOBY in hand ready to get Kombucha started with me. I’ve only been obsessed with the idea thanks to a slight love affair with my Synergy Kombucha that leaves me easily busting my well-controlled grocery budget and my pins on Pinterest drooling over the flavoring possibilities. And I have to admit, I sort of get a thrill out of grossing TJ out with another “crunchy” idea fermenting in the house.

He’s absolutely grossed out and I’m just giddy.

What is Kombucha?

Kombucha is a fermented tea made with a starter culture (SCOBY), tea, sugar and water that is left to ferment for 5-30 days. You can drink it plain or add fruit, ginger, fruit juice to flavor to your liking.

Why drink it?

Kombucha is known especially for it’s probiotics, but it also contains ingredients from fermentation that aid in cancer prevention, immune boosters, joint relief, and detoxification properties. If you want details, this is a great article on the benefits.

How do I make it?

Making it is way more simple than I pictured and I’m loving the project. Save yourself some money and give it a whirl.

When you break down the cost after recouping money spent on the jars if you had none in the beginning of your journey, you’re looking at $0.12 cents per serving vs. $1.50 if you drank half the bottle of Kombucha bought at your local health food store. I don’t know about you, but I drink that whole sucker right down in one sitting.

Please say you do too.

Severe weakness for Whole Foods salad bar and my Synergy Kombucha.

Severe weakness for Whole Foods salad bar and my Synergy Kombucha.

Supplies:

  • At least 2 4-gallon glass jars with flip lids and tight seals
  • White sugar (organic)
  • 5 black tea bags
  • Filtered Water
  • SCOBY (symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast) If you don’t have a friend with an extra SCOBY of their own ready to share, you can always order them online and they will be shipped to you in a dehydrated form ready to go.
  • Ginger, fruit or juice of your choice
  • Rubber band
  • Wooden spoon
  • Mesh strainer

Directions:

1. In your glass jar pour 1 1/3 c. sugar and 5 black tea bags.

2. Boil water and pour into jar about 2 inches full so it is enough to dissolve sugar and steep tea.

3. Stir tea and sugar with a wooden spoon and let it sit for 10 minutes.

4. Fill up the rest of the jar with cool water and take tea bags out.

5. Place SCOBY on top.

6. Cover top of the jar with a dishcloth and rubber band.

7. Set in a dark place at room temperature for 5 days.

8. At the end of 5 days, remove the SCOBY and prepare a new jar (repeating steps 1-7).

9. In your first jar add something that has sugar in it (1/2 c. grated ginger, berries, non-pulpy juice, etc.).

10. Seal the jar with the air-tight lid and let it sit for at least 2 days.

11. Strain out the fruit or whatever you added with a mesh drain and transfer to serving jars or plastic tea container in the fridge.

*Be careful when you open your air-tight container. The longer it sits, the fizzier it can get and will explode. It is recommended to hold one hand over your lid while you open with the other hand to maintain control.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Kombucha

    • They are actually 2 gallon jugs and they were $11 each at the Container Store. I’m sure you could find them pretty easily some place like Target also. Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

